Scripting News for 2/26/2006

A new prefs system is on the way for the OPML Editor.  

Tim King wants to edit a day’s worth of WordPress posts in his outliner. I haven’t released the code that does this, but I could clean it up and ship it. Hmmm. 

Sunday night on WAMU is old-time radio. Drama, comedy and westerns. I just listened to Dragnet, then Gunsmoke, now The Life of Riley. Later tonight is President Truman’s inaugural.  

Lisa Williams: “Offline editors are from Mars, the OPML Editor is from Venus.” 

On this day in 1998, I released the source code for the Scripting News website. I bet it would work in today’s OPML Editor. Should I give it a try? (No-go, the files were on a server that’s long gone.) 

Brooklyn Joe created a NY Yankees reading list. Oh man, you can tell I’m really behind reading lists because there are two weird things going on here. First, the Yankees? You gotta be kidding. Second, what’s a guy from Brooklyn doing rooting for the Yankees. Hope he doesn’t tell his neighbors in Brooklyn he’s doing that. Brooklyn is on Long Island, and folks, that’s National League territory. Let’s get clear on that. But even if the guy is a traitor to his homeland, and without any discernable philosophy, at least he’s getting behind OPML reading lists. Which in balance, gets him a link on Scripting News. For now. :-) 

Sunday morning bluegrass on WAMU. This station is such a score. Last night they played an hour of hometown New Orleans funky jazz. One great hit after another. Yehi.  

Scott Karp’s Publishing 2.0 is becoming a must-read blog. He’s trying to figure things out. Good on him.  

Samantha Schutz is the daughter of a friend of my mom’s in NY and she’s written a book and it’s been published. Cool. What a title! 

Hey I just linked to Amazon, I’ve been doing that lately, just a little, as I’ve relaxed a bit about patents. I’ve come to appreciate that this isn’t a very kind world to creative people, lots of nasty people try to take anything that isn’t locked up and nailed down. When patents are used to protect creativity, I guess they have a place. Not happy about that. I still don’t support, in any way, the predatory way Amazon has used patents to take ideas out of the commons for themselves. It’s the same way I feel about companies hijacking open formats, trying to take control of other people’s creativity, without even offering to pay for it. Geez talk about greed. That’s why it’s cool that Dave Sifry respected my request to get out of the awkward place he found himself. There are other companies that haven’t yet responded, and I’m not going to pull any punches if they don’t get out the place they don’t belong. No one is the Boss Man of the stuff I gave away.  

Flickr photos from Mardi Gras parades in New Orleans. 

John Fraser: “I can’t get my subscription list out of Safari, which makes portability an issue.” [Postscript

Doc Searls and son nail snowboarding. It has a lot to do with falling on your ass and annoying skiers.  

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by scooter on February 26, 2006 at 7:54 am

    I read about John Fraser’s problem with Safari.
    I couldn’t find a place on his blog to leave a comment or an e-mail address.
    Here is a link to macosxhints.com that may be able to help him out.

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20050613221526553

    Reply

  2. This is totally off topic and mayber there is another forum to ask this question, but here it goes – When using the OPML editor to send posts to WordPress, it puts each post under a new date, so if there are multiple posts on the same day, they each get their own date stamp of the current date. However, in Dave’s and others blogs, all of the day’s posts are under the same date heading. Is this behavior that you can change on the OPML editor side or the WordPress side, and if so, how?

    Reply

  3. tcking, I haven’t released that code yet, and until now it hadn’t even crossed my mind that other people would want it, but looking at your wordpress.com site, it seems you could use it. Hmmm.

    Reply

  4. Your Yankees list is the perfect answer to the question of why OPML matters. Anyone interested in Ruby, for instance, can be given a single OPML to put into their feed reader to get all the information they need. I’ve just corrected the OPML in FeedOnFeeds so that it validates properly. Unfortunately your example also answers why I need to add feed tagging to FeedOnFeeds.

    Reply

  5. Admittedly, I’ve been using WordPress for WordPress posts, Dave, but I’m doing a blog for http://stamfordadvocate.com that I’d like to be hosted on WordPress but would be much better if authored in the OPML Editor (with the feature mentioned above). Old Media becomes OPML Media : )

    Reply

  6. Woo hoo! Go Brooklyn Joe! For the record, Dave, Joe grew up in Connecticut. Connecticut is just across the sound from Long Island where most self-respecting people are Yankees fans, except for those odd folks further north who prefer to wear red.

    He ain’t heavy; he’s my brother. ;-)

    Reply

  7. Thanks Dave, I’ll be on the lookout for that feature.

    Reply

  8. For what it’s worth with respect to the WordPress thing, I use an OPML blog as my live head dump, and then copy & paste outline nodes over to a workspace entry using the WordPress Tool. Not as slick and synched up as what Dave’s got going on here, but it’s another approach.

    Reply

  9. Okay, I’m taking a look at this, but I don’t understand why you can’t just make one post at the beginning of the day and then edit it in the outliner as the day goes by. Is it because you want permalinks on each paragraph? I think that’s the major feature that I have that you don’t. Unless I’m missing something of course. :-)

    Reply

  10. Imorchad – You are way over my head.

    Dave – Yes that will work, see the latest entry in http://timking.wordpress.com. I was confused about the behavior of the ” New Entry” button in the OPML editor – I now realize that the “New Entry” can mean “New Day”. You just need to rename the title to be the current date and add new sub-items for each post for that day.

    Reply

  11. Oops, wrong link, I mean http://tcking.wordpress.com.

    Reply

  12. [...] Oh, and I want this, badly. [...]

    Reply

  13. Yes Dave,

    You can do one WP post per day through the editor.

    No permalink and it is one RSS item for any number of posts during the day.

    It works but would be nicer the “traditional way”. I’ll see what I can do on the WordPress side to make this work. I know I can do it, given time.

    Reply

  14. I agree; I’d like to see if there is a way to do things the traditional way, with RSS items for each new outline entry. Possibly it would be best to bundle this along with a custom template that formatted a WordPress blog more along the lines of an outline…then an outline entry can map one-to-one with a WordPress post. Just an idea.

    Reply

  15. Greg, I think there may be enough here to warrant a special feature.

    Permalinks, each headline an item in the RSS feed.

    Probably want to figure out some way of linking into comments, although I have no idea how to do that part. :-)

    Reply

  16. I think if each headline is sent as a separate post, then permalinks and comments and having posts organized by day can all be handled by the WordPress template.

    But. . .what happens when a post is updated. Will WordPress see it as new post?

    I am actuallly a little confused on how this functionality will be handled. I think it needs some PHP side work, no?

    Or I’m missing what you have in mind, Dave.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

