Scripting News for 10/26/2006

Lobby of the W Hotel in Seattle. 

Evan Williams announces that Odeo is finished, and he’s formed a new company. 

Next, obvious question — will Adam give back the money he raised for PodShow? 

Kevin Kelly has been coming up with some great stuff lately on his Cool Tools blog. 

John Robb has a book coming in April on the next stage of terrorism and the end of globalization.  

 

10 responses to this post.

  1. Dave:

    Try your OGQ search on topix.net — Our results go back a year, search 50,000 sources (including lots of blogs and losts of news), are available via RSS and (if you’re on the website) a clickable histogram of the past year’s results.

    No, it doesn’t look for freshly updated web pages for new mentions of the term, so it’s not precisely what you’re referring to here, but it exists today and works now….

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeffrey Jones on October 26, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    Looks like they fixed the MacBook shutdown problem.

    http://www.macworld.com/news/2006/10/26/macbookfirmware/index.php

    Reply

  3. I’m not grokking the post about Podshow. Is that in reference to the Odeo announcement, or something else that I might have missed?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Brooks on October 26, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    I know you have written about “who owns your data” a number of times before, so I thought you might find this post interesting about Basecamp: http://www.darrenbarefoot.com/archives/2006/10/should-web-apps-hold-on-to-my-data.html

    Reply

  5. Evan and his peeps had the money to buy out the VCs, Adam and Ron don’t and would not.

    Reply

  6. Posted by xiffix on October 27, 2006 at 6:47 am

    Not so fast, there. Nowhere in Ev’s blog entry does he say “Odeo is finished.” And Biz Stone’s entry on the Odeo blog directly contradicts your claim:

    http://odeo.com/blog/2006/10/odeo-reborn.html

    Reply

  7. On that Democratic spam yesterday… I’m also getting this. In my case, I’m pretty sure I must have gotten signed up for this list by or through MoveOn, since that’s the only politically related email list I’m on. If so, they should have asked first. I don’t mind a few appeals for money, but several every day is getting excessive….

    Reply

  8. Posted by Fred Ballard on October 27, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    Some nits about the calendar on the right side.

    When I went to scripting.com today, 10/27/2006, 10/24 is not selectable on the calendar.

    If I select 10/23, I can’t select any date after 10/23.

    If I select Sep, I can no longer select Oct.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Fred Ballard on October 27, 2006 at 1:30 pm

    OK, one last nit.

    I posted my previous comment at 4:28 pm CDT.

    It posted with a time of 1:28 pm PST?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

