Scripting News for 6/26/2007

Tonight’s message 

Find out about tonight’s dinner by listening to my latest TwitterGram.

Always a quickie, guaranteed to be 200K or less. A bite-size podcast.

BTW, the blogger whose name escaped me is Berkeley neighbor Scott Rosenberg.

Does Peter have an iPhone? We’ll let you know.

You can spy on the festivities through the KitchenCam!

River of News everywhere, now, please 

AOL embraces River of News. Why doesn’t everyone else just go ahead and do it too. Think about it. When you want news, you want the new stuff, you don’t want to wade through sections looking for the new stuff. You want the computer to find it for you. Too many electronic news sites are patterned after newspapers, that published once a day. In the real world of today, news is published all the time. Might as well get used to it, it’s not going to change. Oh the insanity of the Apple iPhone ads. They show the user panning over the NY Times website front page and it looks like paper news. What a joke. 25 years from now today’s kids will look at that as the definition of insane.

John Dvorak: “This is so easy that I’m going insane!”

Glenn Fleishman: “The iPhone has a very small screen compared to even the tiniest laptop.”

TwitterGram, Day 4 

Garrick Van Buren has the first client for the TwitterGram web service, written in AppleScript, for Audio Hijack Pro.

I’m working on a website that connects up to the web service. Slowly at first, the bootstrap begins.

Today’s links 

Uncov: “Ikan is a barcode scanner that you use to scan the empty packages of shit when you throw it out so you know to buy more. It’s got some web integration thing so it will e-mail you a shopping list. It will even send your list to an online grocer!”

Les Orchard: “If I were Scoble, and I read this, my immediate response would be to write a nice, long essay on arm farting.”

NakedJen: “I’m going to keep wearing my seatbelt.”

We’re getting close 

Paolo writes about open relationship standards.

In the last couple of days I’ve written, debugged and refined a web service that does TwitterGrams. It builds on Twitter’s identity system, much the way I imagine I’d build off an open identity system. That is to say that Twitter is almost everything I’d want from an open identity system. But not everything. I have a feeling that Mike Graves is nodding as he reads this, and I believe he knows what the missing piece is. And it’s one that Twitter (or anyone else) could add, almost trivially.

What’s missing: The ability for any app to store information associated with an account. Each person defines a namespace that can connect up to any other person with a namespace. At the intersection between two users could be (I’m channeling Marc Canter here) an appointment, a photograph (or many), a movie, a weblog, you name it. Marc could decide that this post belongs in his namespace in addition to mine (where the original lives). That’s what the permalink is for.

Are we close? Yes we are. The API for TwitterGrams borrows a key idea from the MetaWeblog API, that a RSS item can hitch a ride with every bit that travels over the pipe. There’s the metadata. David Weinberger should be happy. :-)

BTW, the connection to Twitter’s identity system is simplicity itself. They do nice work over there. Thanks!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hey – love that twittergram stuff.

    Here’s one I made earlier :-)

    http://www.mysay.com/snippet/view/sos100/lf7h02wwo0gg.html

    Cheers,

    Sean

    Reply

  2. Hi Dave!

    TwitterGram sounds more and more interesting everyday!

    Considering that mobility nowadays plays an important role, there could be also some kind of http://m.twittergram.com.

    Interacting with TwitterGram directly from our mobile phones would be very handy. I don’t know if this is rated among the top priorities right now or if I missed or misunderstood parts of the previews posts, but anyway I think that TwitterGram has a lot of potential.

    Great idea!

    Andrea

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jake on June 26, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    So what is Dvorak’s complaint? That people are writing about the iPhone? I guess he’s smart (or is it cool) because he’s writing about people writing about the iPhone?

    Fleishman probably shouldn’t have (mis)predicted AT&T’s service plan pricing on the day that the pricing came out. Oh well, I guess Fleishman and Podhoretz will be taking their own advice and not buying and iPhone. More for the rest of us. (Next we’ll be hearing that the iPhone is not P*ople-Ready…)

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jenny Ryan on June 26, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Dave, you say that in 25 years, the iPhone commercials will look like a joke. I suggest that in 25 years, RSS will look like a joke.

    Things change, time marches on, advances…well…advance. Of course in 25 years these things will look like a joke — that’s the nature of the world we live in.

    Reply

  5. I just don’t do euphoria when it comes to cell phones. I don’t think they’re magical, and I don’t see anyihing about the iPhone that’s even compelling.

    However, oddly, my Blackberry stopped doing email a couple of days ago.

    Reminds me of how my old Mac laptop stopped working the day before they announced the MacBooks.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Glenn Fleishman on June 26, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    “Fleishman probably shouldn’t have (mis)predicted AT&T’s service plan pricing on the day that the pricing came out.”

    I said voice + data would run around $90 per month. Instead, voice and data cost $60 to $100 per month. But I thought they’d include Wi-Fi with data, as T-Mobile does (in various permutations). They did not, making the iPhone much less useful. A monthly hotspot plan costs $20 to $50 per month depending on which (or how many) you sign up for.

    Reply

  7. Dave, re: “25 years from now today’s kids will look at that as the definition of insane.”

    The older I get, the more I realize that 25 years isn’t that far from now. In reality, I think the iPhone hype is only slightly more trivial than, say, news about Paris Hilton. However, once a very wise man told me: “It’s the stuff of no importance whatsoever that make us feel nice about being human.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

