Scripting News for 6/29/2007

Phone-to-twittergram breakthrough! 

Roger Strickland has a bare-bones phone to Twittergram system working.

I just called his service on my Blackberry, recorded a Twittergram, and it was posted through the web service.

Yehi!!

The number to call is 888-281-3613. Don’t talk too long (remember the 200K limit). Hang up when you’re done.

Awesome!!

Others are working in this area as well, but Roger was the first to break through with working functionality.

I’ll be leaving a voice TwitterGram from my iPhone, with any luck, in less than an hour.

This is coooooool.

Peets on University has great wifi 

The free wifi from the Apple store reaches across the street into Peets. So you get excellent coverage here and it’s free and fast. Thanks Apple.

m.twittergram.com is live! 

Want to hear what people are twittering about on your mobile device?

http://m.twittergram.com/

It works on my Blackberry, it launches a music player app when I click on one of the links, but I haven’t figured out how to get it to play. Ooops.

Does it work with the iPhone? We’ll find out sooon. :-)

How does it work on your mobile device? Is it TwitterGram-capable?

BTW, we should have a way to post a TwitterGram from a cellphone soon, maybe even later today.

iPhone day arrives 

Big news from Palo Alto. A UPS truck pulls up at the Apple Store. Does it contain the iPhones. No one knows for sure!

It’s fun to watch the play by play!

Everybody please remember, it’s just a phone, okay?

uncov reviews Pownce 

I love these guys whoever they are.

“Pownce also feels a little bit like Twitter except that its user interface makes you want to gouge your eyeballs out with a fork.”

They also point out that it’s a lot like FTP, and is an overpriced repackaging of Amazon S3. And that the size limits prevent you from sharing anything really useful.

ISPs from the AOL era 

Quickly, I thought this morning I’d install the Comcast self-install network interface that arrived via UPS yesterday. Well, the first part went quickly, I got connected, but then it wanted me to download an installation kit, which once downloaded on my Mac (it came in as an hqx, so they clearly understood it was a Mac) wouldn’t run because it required Internet Explorer. I imagine that’s a big support headache for them.

No problem for me, I just launched Parallels, but it couldn’t find the cable modem, so I’m stuck, which is probably okay, because I don’t really want to install anything to get my second ISP connection in the house. I have six computers, so only one is going to get anything installed on it. And the clue that I didn’t want to do it was the requirement that you disable all anti-virus software. Uh huh. Yeah, and why exactly should I do that?

They also require that you get a comcast.net mail address.

When do you think buying Internet connectivity will get you that and only that.

PS: Don Cook, a Mac user, called Comcast, they set it up on their end, and that was that. I figured that’s all we had to do. I’ll call them tomorrow.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephen Bove on June 29, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Here’s a virtual=paper-cut-out iPhone for those who are not waiting in line to buy one and arbitrage it on eBay 10 seconds later ;-)

    http://bookofjoe.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/06/29/jnbnkjb.jpg

    Reply

  2. Posted by Don Cook on June 29, 2007 at 10:52 am

    When I signed up for Comcast back in Feb, they required a $39 set up kit with a manual and disks and a couple of cables. I needed none of this. I called their service center and they ended up doing a couple of things on their end and my iMac worked fine. I just threw away the kit last week.

    Reply

  3. Hey Dave – m.twittergram.com is perfect for mobile devices: the links download the mp3 (pretty fast over 3G) and the default music player fires up.
    Maybe you can expand it to accept different kinds of attachments ?(Twitterbits) Why limit it to mp3 files only?
    For example I could attach a Flash lite file (.swf): on mobile devices this would fire up the flash lite player – on full pc’s/macs this would display in the standard browser. you can fit a lot of media content in a 200kb flash file, like little games or trivia quizes, or …. whatever. (offcourse, since the iPhone lacks flash support, this won’t work on an iPhone, doh!)

    Cheers and good luck this evening!
    Steffest

    Reply

  4. Mobile Twittergram added to my directory of mobile apps:

    http://monkey.org/~emv/m/

    thanks Dave

    Reply

  5. MP3 twittergrams play on my Treo 650 just fine in the RealPlayer application. WAV twittergrams don’t. They want to go into my “Sounds” application. Guess I don’t really want twittergrams as ring tones ;-)

    I would like to know at a glance which are WAV and which are MP3. No sense downloading something that doesn’t play.

    Reply

  6. Phoned in twittergrams are trés cool. Brilliant, Dave!

    I tweet as “imacpr0n”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

