Scripting News for 10/12/07

Now that I’m home 

I have to tell Virgin America that I’m not going to be on the flight tomorrow morning. That’s proving more difficult than you might imagine. I logged into my account on their website, and it seems to have forgotten about my reservation, even though I just got an email reminding me to check in. Okay, so I called their reservation line, navigated through voicemail, and received a message that due to heavy call volume they can’t talk to me, and hung up! Oh man, that’s not cool.

So what should I do now? I thought maybe I should call Xeni or Cory or Peter, since I know all of them and they’re now spokespersons for the airline. Heh. Okay I’m not going to do that. But I thought about it for a second or two and decided to just blog it instead. :-)

Now I have to talk to American Airlines to see about getting them to pay for the hotel in Dallas last night. Lotsa luck! (Predictably, they said I didn’t read the fine print, so I paid for my hotel room and that’s that. Now what to do with all the miles I have on this airline that I’m never going to use.)

One more stop — Expedia, to see if I can get a refund for two nights in New York that I didn’t use. What do you think?? Hmmm. Well, Expedia wins the prize! I’m getting the refund. I asked where she was — the Philippines. I congratulated her for working for a good company, that made her quite happy. I make a point of thanking these poor people when they help me.

I’m pretty sure I’ll get a credit from Virgin America when they actually decide to talk to me, or when the website recognizes me, whichever comes first. :-)

Later: I did get through to Virgin America, they gave me a credit for the unused portion of the trip, which I can apply to a trip anytime in the next year. A good outcome.

The face of Uncov 

Click the pic to read about the man behind Uncov.

Early morning twits 

Someday every story in the NYT will be blogged thoroughly before it runs.

Lane Hartwell loves what she do. (32)

If Fred Wilson feels like chopped liver, I must be liver spots. (63)

Okay it was overly optimistic of me to set my computer’s clock to pacific time. (79)

Scott Beale says the next disaster will be twittered. It was. (62)

Mike Arrington is at his best when angry. (41)

NYT OPML. (10)

American Airlines are mother fcukers. (37)

Techmeme is still a spam-filled cesspool. (41)

After twitting and blogging about chopped liver, now i have a jones for chopped liver, at 4:06AM. Oh the humanity. (114)

PS: All are less than 140 chars. (32)

Improvements to twittergram.com/picstream 

While waiting for airport security to open at DFW, I made a few small improvements to the picstream page.

1. If a picture is wider than 500 pixels, scale it.

2. Only the 100 most recent pics are shown.

3. They have numbers next to them.

http://www.twittergram.com/picstream

Jack-in to CNN while eating breakfast 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Don’t get me started on American Airlines. I’d rather be cramped and herded onto my favorite on-time airlines, Southwest that is operated by human beings empowered to be humane, than fly first class on airlines (like AA) that treat you like crap, and then blame you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by mat on October 12, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Rex – that is exactly the point I just made in my complaint message to AA: that other airlines know how to treat passengers as human beings. My fellow passengers and I were stuck on the tarmac at JFK for four hours yesterday waiting to take off and the flight attendants all hid at the back of the plane sulking!

    Reply

  3. Posted by mat on October 12, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Dave: some suggestions on your miles.

    1) You can use them on another oneWorld(tm) carrier e.g. British Airways, Quantas, Cathay Pacific, &c

    2) I forget the name but there is a site where you can trade miles between loyalty programmes. Of course, the site takes a cut!

    3) If you are thinking of (2) why not cut out the cut and give them to charidee?

    Reply

  4. I give to charity, the miles are for me. I like British Airways. I’ll use the miles on a trip to Europe. And kiss AA goodbye, forever.

    Reply

  5. Check points.com and see if you can transfer them to another airline or rewards program (ie hotels, car rentals, etc). Alternatively, you can donate them to charity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

