Scripting News for 3/2/2006

I’m spending the day at Under the Radar in Mountain View. Depending on the wifi that means not very much, or quite a lot happening here. 

I was trying to send an email as I was heading out the door, and got a message saying my session had expired and I needed to log on again. Okay, so I went to the top level of Gmail, preparing to enter my username and password, and got this sarcastic screen instead (Lockdown in sector 4, geez Louise), saying my mail would be inaccessibe for up to 24 hours. Serves me right for choosing Google for my main mail address. I can’t be 24 hours without email. (PS: It’s only the web interface that’s turned off, I can get in through the POP account.) 

Doc Searls reviews the choices for Macintosh sound.  

Heather Green: “There isn’t a huge amount of money to be made just on podcasts and that the disruptive nature of podcasts lie in the fact that most people will be doing them for themselves and their friends and families.” Amen. 

Sound familiar? 

Private Lives, March 1955: “Joan Crawford’s power — her abuse of people who refuse to bow to her, her control of the casting, direction, and production of her pictures, is the disgrace of Hollywood.”

In case you think the blogosphere is mean-spirited, we still have a ways to go before we match Hollywood. I’m pretty sure we’re going there anyway.🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ross on March 2, 2006 at 12:34 am

    I never thought I would see Dave Winer compared to Joan Crawford. I’ve seen nearly everything now🙂

    Reply

  2. I think you (and others) expect gmail to be an alternative to whatever else you’re using. Using it as your primary email, if you depend on it for your living – is a mistake. Using it as backup or an additional address or as a personal address would be the right choice if you cannot afford to not have access to your emai for a short period of time.

    What if you based your business off Flickr? Flickr is inaccessable (“having a massage”) regularly here and there. Sure people bitch about it, but they understand and don’t base their income around it. It’s a fun, personal photo sharing experience.

    I’m not saying you shouldn’t complain, but as a person with a large audience, dogging gmail for being a personal, really cool service (that’s still in beta) seems a little uncalled for. I understand what you’re saying but perhaps some people might take it as that gmail is instable and a horrible choice for personal web-based email. Which is untrue.

    -also it seems that your issue of having your account frozen makes sense. If you were running a email service such as gmail, if an account has heavy traffic in and out, that could look like someone using gmail to spam others. especially if it’s not a person looking at the issue and it’s a computer comparing x bits out to the magic number where they freeze the account and make sure it’s not a spammer. Also, it appears that the folks over there made it really easy to let them know that you are a heavy traffic user and that you’re not a spammer, you’ve The Dave Winer and you need your web-access unfrozen. Of course that all goes out the window if you haven’t sent out heavy ammounts of email, but I don’t know your case issue.

    soooooo. that was my 2¢
    i really do enjoy reading =)

    Reply

  3. Posted by David Kluskiewicz on March 2, 2006 at 11:34 am

    Jon Udell experienced the same problem with Gmail. http://weblog.infoworld.com/udell/2006/01/13.html

    Reply

  4. Dave, I’d love for you to take a look at what we’re doing with podcasting over here:

    http://del.icio.us/tag/system:filetype:mp3+podcast_conversations+comment
    (You can subscribe with the RSS at the bottom of the page.)

    It’s a dynamically created podcast feed created by a number of users (basically anyone who wants to contribute). It’s very exciting, because it means a podcast, generally created by one or more people, can instead by created by a dozen or a hundred people. We’re very excited by the possibilities of this, and I think you’ll find it interesting.

    Reply

  5. Julien, this looks like a really neat idea. A good way to do audio comments, maybe? I can’t get to the link though. Is it right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

