Scripting News for 5/19/2006

David Berlind wonders if Yahoo has bought Technorati. 

Apple advises not using their laptops on lap tops. 

I was going to sneak out to The Da Vinci Code this aft, but the reviews are so bad, I’ll wait for the DVD.  

Wired award winners for 2006. 

I’m the #3 link on Google for Hotwire. I was reminded to look because they spammed me, saying I can save 10 percent next time they book me into a smoking room.  

MyTunesRSS: “Enjoy all the songs in your iTunes music library on any device that has network access to your iTunes computer.” 

Paolo wonders if the MacBooks will age well. “Plastic laptops tend to wear on the corners and scratch easily,” he says. Funny thing is, I don’t think they’re plastic cases, or if they are, it’s a very strange kind of plastic that feels like a hybrid of metal and plastic. It’s warm to the touch, unlike metal, but it definitely has a different feel from the iBook G4.  

Two years ago: “It’s got a very conservative mission, to answer questions about RSS, to help people use it, to promote its use. It’s basically a support function.” 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Interesting, Dave. You’re the 19th hit on google for hotwire for me, not the 3rd.

    Reply

  2. I guess it varies, now I’m number 4

    Reply

  3. Posted by Matthieu on May 19, 2006 at 10:17 am

    19th for me too.

    Reply

  4. I’ve been waiting for this app for a long time. Nice to see it’s written in Java for a level of platform independence.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Michael on May 19, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    Down around 19th for me too. The IMDB movie results that immediately follow in your screenshot show up around 25th for me.

    Some time after we all drive hovercrafts, PageRank may become personal, and Google might predict the results you’d want to see, the ones that are most relevant to you individually. Done by totally non-evil means, of course.

    For now, I’m sure it’s just a fluke.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Don on May 19, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    I saw The Di Vinci Code today and thought it was very good.

    Don

    Reply

Leave a Reply

