Scripting News for 7/6/2006

People who say life is like high school got it backwards.  

Anyway, come Monday there will be a new temporary host on Rocketboom. Some people think it will be Amber Dawn MacArthur. I happen to have a video of her, with Marc Canter. They both thought they were posing for a picture, but I was actually taking a movie. :-) 

Chris Anderson: “The era of the blockbuster is so over.” 

5/13/02: “Perhaps monoculture has run its course.” 

Todd Cochrane says Podshow hijacked his podcast. They’re doing lots of nasty stuff, for sure. I’m not happy that they’re taking over my content, putting their copyright notice on it, creating their own version of my RSS feed, adding their crap, and taking out my copyright. They’re really asking for trouble. On a massive scale. For example, here’s their version of Engadget’s podcast feed. Copyright is “na.” Uhhhh. Hmmm. Same with Meet The Press. Here’s their program guide. Is your podcast there? 

New header graphic. The East River in NYC, viewed from the 49th floor of the Millenium Hilton Hotel.  

Frank Barnako: “Some bloggers seem to think Amanda is a superstar, sent from above to lead them to mass media dominance.” 

Washington Post article on the split at Rocketboom. 

Jeff Jarvis could be instrumental in sorting it out.  

NY Times: “Microsoft’s digital device would be equipped with at least one feature the iPod lacks: wireless Internet capability that would allow users to download music without being connected to a PC.” 

Boom 

I hope Amanda and Andrew figure out that they have a magic thing, their talent balances each other’s and it’s not too late to work it out, to get back on track. I don’t think either of them will do as well without the other as they would if they got back together.

Rocket 

29 responses to this post.

  1. Good idea to plug Ze Franks in the aftermath of the Rocketboom ka-boom. Ze’s stuff is amazing. Check out his games and toys while you’re at it. They have a lightly mischievous comedy streak built into them. They are as much an expression of Ze as his videos. (Scoble, are you listening?)

    Reply

  2. Posted by vanni on July 6, 2006 at 9:46 am

    re: “Microsoft’s digital device would be equipped with at least one feature the iPod lacks: ”

    oh yeah! like i would believe this nonsense. more like vapourware and FUD!!

    Reply

  3. Why is this rocketboom story such a big deal? Who cares?

    Reply

  4. Dave: You cited me among the bloggers whose “The reporting by the blogosphere so far has been pretty one-sided and totally shoddy and unfair.”

    I wrote that Amanda Congdon was fired. You said she never said that, but it was on her blog in her exchange with Andrew Baron http://amandaunboomed.blogspot.com/2006/07/for-record.html#comments

    “Dear Amanda, this is my last attempt to reach out and let you know I really wish you would stay.

    Andrew, you fired me.”

    Reply

  5. At the time I wrote that, your piece was up, and hers had not been written yet, so I stand by what I said, and yours wasn’t the only piece I pointed to, some of them were written by people I know well and generally trust. So you’re in good company.🙂

    Reply

  6. Dave
    Nothing totally earth shattering but, one of the things that I enjoy about reading your feed is that when you put up a new header graphic you let me know, it’s more like you let all of us know.
    That way I am prompted to actually go to your site and take a look. There are so many feeds that I read (inside Sage) that I never go to the actual site so I am sure that I am missing some great creativity. Again, nothing earth shattering.
    Keep up the great content………..
    Frick

    Reply

  7. Posted by brad on July 6, 2006 at 6:50 pm

    Why’d you take down the stuff about MCN at podshow? It sure looks like they’re trying to hijack RSS feeds, unless it’s a bug. All the “XML” icons for the variosu podcasts appear to be podshow feeds and not those of the originating shows.

    Reply

  8. I wanted to check out some more stuff first. I wondered if Odeo does the same thing. If so, I want to be sure to give them equal grief.

    Reply

  9. Posted by brad on July 6, 2006 at 6:56 pm

    and holy crap check out the “podshow program guide”

    Reply

  10. Brad, it’s pretty nasty!

    I love the way they take the copyright off as they repurpose my RSS feed.

    We need to get a list of problems, and then decide what to do.

    Reply

  11. Posted by brad on July 6, 2006 at 7:06 pm

    Making every podcast on the planet look like a podshow podcast, hijacking RSS feeds. Streaming other people’s content in their player as if it were their own – I assume there’s no way the folks at say, G4 would give anybody permission to stream their shows. It’s like the worst of what anybody thought it could be and then some. The sad thing is if they just played it straight up there’s a promising idea under all that somewhere.

    Reply

  12. Okay Brad, I put some of the notes back and added some more, including a link to the program guide.

    Reply

  13. Posted by brad on July 6, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    saw that. I just happened to catch the ones from before, one second they were there, one second they weren’t. Just curious.

    The fallout from this is going to be crazy.

    Reply

  14. Posted by brad on July 6, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    Looks like they’re changing things right now. Before it just froze up on me it looked like the feed format had changed to something like podshowfeedurl?/actual-original-url. could be wrong, everything has slowed to a crawl now.

    Reply

  15. Posted by brad on July 6, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    For instance now the link for MCN brought up by their search results is

    http://www.podshow.com/shows/?feed_url=http://www.morningcoffeenotes.com/rss.xml

    but it goes to a podshow error page.

    Reply

  16. Dave asked, “Is your podcast there?”

    Yes. http://www.podshow.com/shows/?mode=ext_current&feed_hash=0d9474e42778d699fbaec530e20d66cb

    They must not have been able to grab my feed. XML chicklet links to http://www.podshow.com/extfeeds/.xml

    The site is slow tonight so I can’t get around to look at everything. Putting their copyright on my work of course is wrong; maybe they opened too soon before figuring out how to preserve that info. But too too hasty.

    I agree with Todd that it’s not cool not to link to my site. Plus the link says “View show website”, but it goes to another podshow page. That’s not the show website, so I feel like they ganked the sites as well as the feeds.

    You suppose they think they’re doing it in the name of simplicity? It seems like often Podshow will act in haste and later back down in response to pushback. I bet that will happen with this stuff.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Jack on July 7, 2006 at 12:36 am

    “…come Monday there will be a new temporary host on Rocketboom. Some people think it will be Amber Dawn MacArthur.”

    Who is “some people”?

    Reply

  18. The idea that the iPod needs Wi Fi seems bogus to me. I have a Nokia N80 a very good phone, fairly capable music player with Wi Fi. I use the music player mostly for podcasts and even though I downloaded a podcasts client (fairly good but slow), I download everything on my computer and then move it to the phone (I use the Wi Fi for email and web). It is faster and easier. You won’t be able to use the microsoft player with Mac or Linux, so people will see it as another attempt at Windows lock-in. People are tired of that.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Brad on July 7, 2006 at 7:27 am

    http://curry.podshow.com/?p=215

    “Just returned to the Cottage from Rotterdam. Pretty tired from the week’s events, but there’s stuff to do and things to patch/fix/glue on PodShow.com. The most obvious being that external feeds should of course link to the original external feed

    Lots of reports flowing in with suggestions, ideas and feedback. Keep ‘em coming. “

    Reply

  20. […] BTW, an interesting comment thread developed here last night about the issues at Podshow.   […]

    Reply

  21. Relax. Podshow will address your concerns. Remeber the itunes launch last year? If we wait until it’s perfect we’ll all be dead (and broke).

    P.S., Todd, at least everyone knows how to spell PodShow😉

    Reply

  22. Damn. I hoped that AC would hold the line and refuse to return podcasters their feeds until they singend the PodShow exclusive rights agreement. But alas, the bug has been fixed and it appears that RSS feeds are now pointing to the correct place again.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Marcelo Lopez on July 7, 2006 at 11:52 am

    Life…High School ? High School…Life ?

    What the ? Oh never mind. It’s not important anyways.

    Next calamity on the net, please…

    Reply

  24. Dave,

    While reading your post regarding Curry & Co. and copyright issues,
    I noticed that iPodder.org is listed in your “Community Directory” file.

    In case you are not aware, iPodder.org for all intents and purposes has been
    dead for at least the last 6 months if not much longer, I’ve lost track.

    Despite the fact that I’m a category “editor” on iPodder.org for:

    1. Business
    2. Law
    3. Finance

    I haven’t received a request for any new listings for over 6 months, in part
    because the “email” links on iPodder.org are dead. Not to mention that the site is more of than not completely unresponsive.

    Frankly I’ve “moved on” regarding my dealings with the folks behind iPodder.org, however I thought you might like to know.

    Best,

    -Aldo

    Reply

  25. PodShow Copyright and Intellectual Property Policy

    PodShow respects the intellectual property of others…..

    …..All content included on this site,….. is the property of PodShow…..

    PodShow’s trademarks and trade dress may not be used in connection with any third products or services in any manner, and particularly in any manner that is likely to cause confusion among customers

    too hard to edit out the non-ironic bits, just follow the link

    from http://www.podshow.com/terms/ip.html

    Reply

  26. […] So Podshow came out with their big wave of updates. The word in podland is that they hijacked feeds. Lot’s of the vocal folks have spoken on this. It should be interesting to see how this is handled. […]

    Reply

  27. They did a lot more than rewrite XML feeds.

    This is what I found after checking our feed…

    http://www.podcastingnews.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6270#6270

    David Shapiro
    Next Big Hit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

