Scripting News for 11/7/2006

Notes on tonight’s election returns 

7:08:26 PM: When the dust settles I think we’ll look back to Bill Clinton as the leader of the Democratic Party, passing the baton to his wife. The primary election started a few weeks ago, it turns out, and now I see how Hilary is putting it together, in ways I hadn’t seen before. They are two really smart cookies.

7:06:50 PM: We’re in a lull, the mood has really changed among the talking heads. Republicans are saying they lost their way. The Democrats are either jubiliant (in speeches) and sober (interviews). The dynamic of American politics is changing visibly, minute by minute.

6:33:26 PM: MSNBC calls Rhode Island for the Democrats. There goes Lincoln Chafee. So far the Dems have won everything they need to win, they’ve now won three of the six they need to take the Senate.

6:25:34 PM: It really feels like a Democratic sweep tonight. The early exit polls told the story, most voters were influence by national issues. There’s tremendous dissatisfaction with the Republicans.

6:18:13 PM: MSNBC calls Maryland for the Democrats. The third seat of six they needed to win.

6:10:22 PM: MSNBC says Lieberman wins in Connecticut. No doubt the Republicans are going to court him.

6:00:34 PM: CNN calls Pennsylvania for the Democrats — the second unseated Republican.

5:55:32 PM: CNN calls Ohio for the Democrats — the first of six Republican incumbents they need to unseat to take control of the Senate.

5:37:44 PM: CNN calls New Jersey for the Democrats.

5:06:17 PM: Katherine Harris lost in Florida. Mixed feelings. I love her dearly. But she is a Republican. Net-net: Coooool.

5:02:23 PM: Nothing surprising projected on MSNBC.

4:59:47 PM: If you’re blogging the election returns, send me a link.

Pennsylvania closes at 5PM, 13 minutes from now. Permanent link to this item in the archive.

I’m watching the returns on MSNBC. It’s almost 4PM, when they’ll have results for a bunch of states, including Virginia. Exciting! None of the tight races have been decided. They have been reporting exit polls on what issues voters thought were important. 60 percent thought Iraq was the most important issue in this election. That’s got to be good news for the Dems

Doc in Berkeley 

Doc Searls is coming up from Santa Barbara, he’ll be the first guest in the new house, now that the guest bedroom is minimally furnished. Tonight we’re going to watch election returns in HD. Maybe we can do a podcast. Tomorrow morning we’re going to have a two-person conference to discuss a project for open metadata we want to do together. Then we’re having lunch with George Lakoff. In the afternoon we’re going to see a demo of a hot new web app that I’m investing in. I think of this as my own personal Web 2.0™ conference, on a scale that I can enjoy.

Web 2.0 in the news 

Om Malik: “Thanks but no thanks for Web 2.0 spin.”

Dan Fost: The Top 10 Lies of Web 2.0.🙂

I’ve heard it said many times that the march of progress means that business people take over from the pioneers, but I’ve observed the opposite. When the boom is finished, the technology will still be here, and while progress may have suffered during the euphoria (the money is rarely used to fund new ideas), the ball never really stops rolling while everyone is focused on the money-obsessed. When the boom is over, we’ll still be here, pushing new ideas forward.

Why Studio 60 sucks when it sucks 

Is it just me or did Studio 60 totally suck last night?

Rex Hammock always asks questions with deep philosophy.

I think I finally figured out the point of Studio 60. It’s the methadone for West Wing addicts, which is the real smack. Even when the WW sucked, it was still about the Presidency, so you could kind of forgive the characters for their arrogance. But when the Chairman of NBC acted offended when John Goodman didn’t sway and faint at being in the presence of such greatness, all I could think was “What a fcuking putz!” (And I wasn’t thinking of Goodman.)

The only thing worth watching in this show is the sex between the writer and the star. It’s really a love story. When they push that to the side, the show has no punch at all.

Yeah I’ll watch again, but I really hope Harriet and Matt have sex. This is not like Donna and Josh. They really have to do it for the show to make any sense at all.

Other links 

NY Times: “Dean Baquet, the editor of The Los Angeles Times, who refused to go along with staff cutbacks ordered by its owner, the Tribune Company, was forced out of his job today.”

iPodObserver: “58% of current iPod owners who are planning to buy a new digital media device in the next 12 months are ‘likely’ to choose Microsoft’s Zune.”

Lance Knobel voted against impeaching the President.

I got a link from the BBC Videolog on 9-11. Delivering some serious flow. It’s nice that they’re showing how bloggers covered the event. It was a turning point for both blogging and RSS.

13 responses to this post.

  1. 30 Rock is supposed to be much more entertaining than Studio 60. Haven’t seen either, myself.

    Reply

  2. Dave, just to clarify. It was Rex Sorgatz (the other Rex of the blog fimoculous.com) who asked the deep philosophical question. This time, I’m merely the messenger. : )

    Reply

  3. I think we’re meant to see the network chairman as a putz. I liked the episode, not so well as most of the others, but wouldn’t say it sucked, unless you mean it sucked in relation to what the show could be. In relation to the rest of broadcast network TV, I don’t think it’s possible for an episode of the show to suck.

    Reply

  4. 30 Rock vs. Studio 60: ten times the laughs in half the time. Much better ROI.
    BTW: Does anybody connected with the fictional NBS network display any awareness that the world of TV and advertising is being upended by the likes of Google, YouTube, iTunes, Xbox Live, Ze Frank, Brightcove and an endless list of etc.? (I’d mention the ScobleShow in this list, but he says he doesn’t want the mass audience😉

    Reply

  5. I think the chairman of NBS is developing into the funniest character in the series. I loved the way he promised a meeting with the actor for the young Chinese viola player and then had to steadily vary what he could deliver.

    I do agree that it is methadone for West Wing fans in recovery. I really want to like it, but it isn’t quite there yet. Not sure Harriet and Matt is the key for me.

    Reply

  6. I finally have seen this show. All episodes. I don’t know what to think, yet. But I will say that I find myself sitting outside of myself constantly comparing the writing to West Wing. And I do get just a tad annoyed with Aaron Sorkin and all the self-referential bits. Even the Matt/Harriet relationship is self-referential! He dated Kristen Chynoweth (of the West Wing) who is deeply religious and released a Christian Music album shortly before joining the cast of West Wing.

    I will keep watching. Because I am an Aaron fan. And I just have this feeling that it will get better. West Wing wasn’t brilliant television right out of the gate.

    I did notice that last night’s story and teleplay were by someone other than Aaron. But that the he got credit as “writer”. I think that may be the first episode where that happened, but I could be wrong.

    My other issue? The skits for the late night Studio 60 program itself. I know they’re trying to parody (or at least I hope they are) SNL, but could they be any worse? It would be so nice if they were actually funny. So I believed that Matt was as talented a writer as everyone claimed.

    Haven’t seen 30 Rock. And since I don’t have TV, probably won’t. But I will keep watching Studio 60. Because I’m a sucker for Aaron Sorkin. Especially if he’s writing well.

    Reply

  7. I, too, am an recovering West Wing, and Sports Night, addict (love the meth comparison). I desperately want to like Studio 60, and agree that it is clearly better than the average show, but we’ve been trained to expect more than just “better than average” from Aaron.

    The WSJ did an article on the show recently and left the impression that it is having trouble finding a consistent audience, leaving it with an uncertain future. I wrote about the article and my struggles with the show here:

    http://www.leaveitbehind.com/home/2006/11/sunset_on_studi.html

    Reply

  8. Personally, I have gotten hooked on Herores – finally a comic book tv show made up for the modern era…

    Lost has also gotten a hold of me this season again – what is the real story of those people anyway?

    Reply

  9. Posted by Chris Judson on November 7, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    Studio 60–I’m going to have to disagree: it didn’t suck, allow the story to happen. I watched both _Sports Night_ and _WW_ during the first two seasons until ABeeSee dropped _SN_ because it didn’t fit a particular genre.

    I feel the same way about S60: could we allow stuff to tell stories instead of being obsessed about ratings (irony with the arc of the show?).

    Anyway, could we just let the story happen and develop instead of pronouncing the “death” of a show before it matures?

    And why is _Too-and-A-have Men_ still on the air?

    Now, I can excuse Asner’s performance (I chalk it up to his stereotype, flat character). Goodman’s character was just fun.

    Okay, now on to watching the last season of _Gilmore Girls_.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Larry on November 7, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    I’d be shocked if that iPod research wasn’t sponsored by MicroSoft. The method has all the earmarks of biasing/stacking the deck in favor or the sponsor and designed to ensure a specific outcome. It smells of a PR tactic.

    Reply

  11. Yes, Studio 60 really sucked. I would say it has “Jumped the shark” when Goodman came on as the hick judge. It is not long for this world.

    Reply

  12. “Even so, we should vote Democratic, because it’s the clearest protest vote we have. But if we elect Democrats, we should be prepared not to stop there”.

    Thanks for your thoughts

    Obviously, the pendulum swung wrong for too long. Enough! Ain’t America great. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Dave, I’m blogging election returns from Ann Arbor – http://vielmetti.typepad.com/vacuum/michigan_elections . I put up a link to all of the local detail I could find, though I don’t expect all of the county and city races to be counted until after I’m in bed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

