Scripting News for 2/1/2007

Good morning everybody! 

It’s been a lazy day with a little programming. Continuing to migrate static sites over the S3. Went to the movies, was entertained by excellent acting. 

Another exciting thing happened. I got my BART EZ Rider card. Now I’m itching to use it. Blogger’s breakfast in SF on Sunday? 

Jason Calacanis called last night to ask if I’d help with the conference he and Mike Arrington are planning for the fall, and of course I said yes. I was around when Demo was founded, and I seem to remember it was was always supposed to be non-commercial. It was the answer to the now-defunct Comdex trade show, where you had to walk through miles of old boring stuff to find the new cool stuff. The goal of Demo was to turn it all around, and have the products move around and you get to sit in your seat drinking coffee, munching on M&M’s and snarking and snickering with the people to the left and right. Back in the old days no one paid to present, for better or worse it was Stewart Alsop’s judgment that determined who presented. I have some ideas how the format can evolve, considering that it is almost 20 years later, and Comdex is long-gone. No matter what, it should be fun to help Mike and Jason put this together.  

7 responses to this post.

  1. I went and saw Notes on a Scandal today, as well. I felt that Judi Dench was just top notch. One of her best performances to date in a film. I’ve loved her forever, but she was just fantastic in that role.

    I’m very busy with house guests on Sunday or I would most definitely come and meet you for a blogger’s breakfast in San Francisco.

    Reply

  2. I haven’t seen it yet, but I love Judi Dench. Fairly daring role for her, ya?

    Reply

  3. Dave:

    torrent of your lincoln.jpg

    I’m seeding it right now. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by mark on February 2, 2007 at 2:12 am

    Dave:
    Trying to view the KimKim.gif does not work in my browser (iCab). The browser attempts to display the image but shows raw data. Safari simply saves the image to my downloads folder rather than displaying it.
    Checking what’s returned by Amazon it appears that the Content-Type header says; public-read. Shouldn’t it say; image/gif ?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Walter Skinner on February 2, 2007 at 4:29 am

    Dave,
    KimKim.gif displays here in Safari, but if I try to open it in a new window, it gets downloaded to disk.

    Reply

  6. I haven’t seen Notes on a Scandal, but it was a just awful book.

    Reply

  7. Mark, thanks for the excellent bug report, I was able to zoom right in on the mistake I made, and fix it. Now I have to reupload a few sites, that’ll take a while. I’ll pos there when it’s done. Thanks again!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

