Scripting News for 3/17/2007

Ponzi’s new MacBook 

Ponzi is over at my house checking out the RSS Couch, and setting up her new MacBook.

I took a movie as she was getting started.

We had a bottle of Ponzi wine while we were setting it up. Hic.

jkOnTheTwitter 

Kevin from JK, an excellent mobile gadget blog, suggested he might like to see his blog as a Twitter River, and I said it would be my honor to provide one.

http://twitter.com/jkOnTheRun

Having generalized the code this morning to make it work for Wired in addition to the Times, it took all of 15 minutes to get it working for JK.

PS: It’s kind of obvious I should do it for Scripting, too?🙂

I love Patti Smith 

1999 Salon profile of Patti Smith who was outstanding on last night’s HD broadcast of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame awards.

Patti’s mom, who called her Tricia, loved her music as much as we do. Mom told her, on the day she died, that when she was inducted she should play her favorite song, the one she played while she was vacuuming. Smith told the story so sweetly, so you had to wonder what the song would be. She turned around, put the mike to her mouth and screamed: “I don’t fuck much with the past but I fuck plenty with the future.” Mom’s favorite Patti Smith song, it turns out, was Rock & Roll Nigger. Kind of the punk rock equivalent of We Make Shitty Software. I love Patti Smith.

Google’s discography for Patti Smith.

Wired on Twitter? 

Michael Calore at Monkeybites wonders if someone will make a TwitterRiver for Wired News.

Okay, here it is.🙂

http://twitter.com/wired

They have 16 blogs, all of which have feeds. If they provide an OPML reading list for all those feeds, I can add them to the river. I’m kind of tempted to do it myself.🙂

Later, after I get some sleep. (It’s 4:30AM.)

Twitter news feeds 

Tom Newman sends word to check out the following Twitter names: cnn, cnnbrk, bbcnews, bbc.

He also points out that there’s a nytimes account that reflects the contents of the main NY Times feed. The nyt newsbot I set up reflects the contents of all the Times feeds.

Tonight I’m working on generalizing the TwitterRiver tool so the same code can process multiple accounts as well as multiple feeds and correctly route news items between them.

The reason why it’s such a good fit is that Twitter is a river, I saw that immediately. It’s what I’ve been preaching. They got a lot of people to think in terms of River of News. So of course I’m going to jump on that bandwagon. I’ll take victory however I can get it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Twitter (& twitterific) works great.

    For news it’s perfect, much better than having a “crawl” somewhere.

    I like the tweet in twitterific

    would like to be able to have separate feeds (windows)for “friends” and for the pubic feed… the public feed is fun to look at, but kinda pointless to have it tweeting at me all the time. There’s probably an obvious solution. “But now I must be leaving”

    jeff

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jim Posner on March 17, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Sonic Youth got it’s sonic from Fred “Sonic” Smith, the late husband of Patti Smith, who she spoke lovingly of during her induction into the RRHOF.

    Reply

  3. I missed the news when it went live since it hit during our St. Patty’s Day party; I never blog / Twitter and drink when I can help it.😉 Great stuff and works well; THANKS! Supplementing an RSS feed with Twitter has that instant push that I love and keeps the river flowing.

    Reply

  4. Kevin, coooool. Let me know if:

    1. You have any ideas for improving it.

    2. You want the password for the Twitter account.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

