Scripting News for 4/1/2007

A decade of Scripting News 

On this day, ten years ago, a weblog named Scripting News appeared for the first time at this address.

Today, it is the longest continuing running weblog on the Internet.

This site played a big role in several important trends.

1. It helped bootstrap the blogging world. Many of the earliest weblogs were patterened after this site. The software that was used to build many of those blogs came from Scripting News.

2. It was the focal point for the communities that created RSS and podcasting.

3. Many of the political and social innovations that sprang from the blogging world got their start in the Scripting News community.

Earlier today SN more or less reflected what the site looked like on its first day, 4/1/97. It was an approximation — in some cases the sites it linked to are gone, but archives were available at archive.org. In those places I’ve linked to the archive.org versions. In other cases there was no backup at archive.org — those links are broken. But there is a lot of interesting non-broken stuff hanging off this page. If you’re interested in the roots of blogging, you’ll find a lot of treasure here. It may be worth an hour or more exploration on a Sunday afternoon.

I’ve archived the 1997 version of the home page.

Here’s the downloadable archive of the first decade of Scripting News, in HTML. And for outliner fans, in OPML.

To the women of blogging 

I have many friends in the blogosphere, and many of them checked in today, in a way that matters most to me, by holding hands in cyberspace.

A very special greeting came from Betsy Devine, who linked to a timely but forgotten piece I wrote in 2003, which I would like to dedicate to the women of the blogosphere who, at times, find the environment so challenging. In standing up for men in this space, sometimes it may seem that I don’t appreciate the risks that women take. Let me make amends for that.

http://essaysfromexodus.scripting.com/stories/storyReader$2111

Be who you are, nothing more and nothing less, and know that’s where beauty comes from.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Oh Oh…Appears that your Scripting news feed has changed to your Twitter chatter …how annoying. Don’t think I changed anything on my end, did you change something Dave?

    Reply

  2. I changed it while the home page had the archive on it, but now it’s switched back. Sorry it was annoying.

    Reply

  3. What more can I say than just: thanks Dave! The blogosphere is a better place with you in it. Hope to have you around for a long long time to come.

    Pierre
    One of the numerous OPML and RSS (with and without enclosures) users.

    Reply

  4. congratulations and happy birthday, scripting news. here’s to the next ten years.

    my own 10th will come in october, but (and this is a big butt) there are two year-long gaps in my decade… not everybody has your endurance, dave!

    Reply

  5. Thanks Dave…Annoying wasn’t probably the right term…But it all of a sudden filled with a slew of short Twitter chatter and I’m not big on Twitter, I find it distracting, and most posts (not all) valueless.🙂

    Oh, and happy birthday!!!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Russ Lipton on April 1, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    Warmest congratulations. I remember finding Scripting News in mid-1998. I had been doing a golf industry ‘web log’ for a few months using (blush) Lotus Notes, but had no idea that I had stumbled on a revolution, let alone that there was a name for it.

    Ever since, I have had the deepest appreciation for your unique ability to blend visionary stubbornness with real-world impact. It’s true that, in a just world, you’d be filthy rich and quite a bit more famous (as well as notorious) but it’s fortunate we don’t live in that world. I don’t think even your heart could have survived that.

    I had to move on but have still never seen Frontier’s equal … even though Frontier was the living embodiment of something being worse than it appears. And far better. The small opportunity I had to work behind the scenes on a blue sky project with the team was the greatest fun.

    Enough or this will sound an April fools joke or, worse, eulogy!

    The more important issue at the moment is … Let’s Go, Mets! They’ll win the division again (no great achievement), but not the pennant. Their pitchers are older even than you. By August, it will be breakdown city …

    Reply

  7. Happy birthday Dave. I remember Scripting news when it looked like that, as I was a Frontier developer at the time. Checking Scripting news every day was one of my early web habits.

    Thanks for getting me started on the development of web based applications – with Usertalk. Still got the book, Frontier The Definitive Guide by Matt Neuburg. A great book that I notice is still sitting on my techy book-shelf right now.

    All the best,
    Jim

    Reply

  8. Congrats on 10 years Dave! Scripting News was one of my major influences when I started experimenting with blogging 5 years ago, then started Read/WriteWeb 4 years ago. And I also used Radio Userland back then. Keep up the inspiring work!

    Reply

  9. Dave

    We’ve never met – never likely to meet but you remain a constant source of inspiration for what I believe blogging to be all about.

    Considered, informative, helpful, opinionated, but always with the intention of bringing people together through a new medium.

    10 years of blogging and the conception of RSS – awesome stuff – don’t ever stop! Now it is all mainstream we need thinkers like you to show us what to do with it!!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Ben on April 1, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks Dave,

    I’ve been a fan all the way back to using userland frontier to script quarkxpress on the macintosh. congratulations and thanks.

    Ben

    Reply

  11. I think I first came across Scripting News around 4 or 5 years ago. At the time I had recently started learning how to code and so it seemed like it might be the sort of thing I should be reading. I didn’t really know much about the web.

    Though there was definitely a computing theme, it soon became apparent that it wasn’t really about scripting at all. Nevertheless I kept coming back, day after day, I found the stories interesting and liked that it was more about people. After a while I started to follow the links, reading the bits and pieces at the other end and curiosity would lead me to far away places. Reading Scripting News is an adventure every day!

    One of my favorite things is seeing things from new points of view, new perspectives, from angles you never knew existed. Those ah-ha moments are priceless and hard to come by and I’ve had so many of those moments while reading paragraphs on this site.

    So thanks Dave and Happy 10th Birthday to the ScriptingNews-o-Sphere!

    Reply

  12. Congratulations on ten years and thanks for all your efforts!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Mark on April 1, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Thank You

    Reply

  14. Mark stole my idea for a comment, so I’ll just offer my congratulations and warm wishes. Suddenly my 4 1/2-year-old blog doesn’t seem so old🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by Tommy on April 2, 2007 at 6:07 am

    Congratulations! Like many others, I must have stumbled on Scripting News pretty close to its inception. Your writing has often been a starting point for new ideas and reflection. Thank you!

    Reply

  16. Great decade Dave and many thanks to you for your impact on it. Jim Byrne introduced me to Scripting News and the community around it. So thanks to the whole group for which you were the catalyst…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

