Scripting News for 5/26/2007

On mediation 

Observation: “At least it’s over.”๐Ÿ™‚

And yes, I learned a lot.

Creativity is coming back in new ways. I, and UserLand, were under a cloud from 1992 until 2007. It’s amazing how much we got done, considering. The cloud is now gone. This morning, I felt like the stack has been popped back to much brighter days. We’ll see if this holds up.

My small Web 2.0 dividend now appears reasonably safe. Another way of looking at it is that I got back a good chunk of the cash I put into Web 2.0.

Yesterday’s post was entitled “community” for a very good reason. As I went into the mediation, I remembered how genuinely happy people seemed to be when the deal with VeriSign came out. I couldn’t understand why, usually people seemed to resent my success. And weblogs.com seemed a particular lightning rod for grief. Now, a couple of years later it’s more clear. I had a much bigger reservoir of goodwill than I was aware of.

Another bit of information. While the threat of a defamation suit was hanging over me, I heard from a number of bloggers who had been similarly threatened, and caved. This was understandable, but disheartening. I felt in yesterday’s negotiation that I was not just looking out for my own interests, but also trying to create a precedent for bloggers in the future. You may not have to cave under a threat of a lawsuit, although I understand that there are good reasons people do it. However, before making a decision, look in your homeowner’s insurance policy, if you have one. Many of them cover defamation judgments, believe it or not.

Most of the terms of the settlement are confidential, but otherwise I did not agree to limit what I say publicly, or remove or modify any posts. In some ways I knew Russo pretty well, and I was pretty sure he wasn’t misleading me in the past about his respect for the First Amendment, and as it turns out, that belief was correct.

Do I feel like a winner? More so this afternoon than I did last night. I’m optimistic that when I get on the plane on Monday for Copenhagen, I’ll leave more than California behind.๐Ÿ™‚

Afternoon humor 

Steve sez 

Geez, apparently I’ve pissed off Steve Jobs, again.๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses to this post.

  1. If possible, can you ask someone (even yourself) to release Radio.root under the same license as the rest of the Frontier kernel? It’s dying a slow death today and all of Radio’s guts are already released under the kernel project anyway.

    I’m glad to hear that the mediation is over.

    BTW, I re-read the forward you wrote for the O’Reilly XML-RPC book. If you have or can find a copy, a lot of the forward’s text is still relevant today, especially the tone regarding working with other developers.

    Good luck…

    Steve

    Reply

  2. Steve: books.google.com – reading it now!

    Reply

  3. Hey, Dave –

    I just read this in the weekly Economist Politics digest and thought of you and blogging immediately. Just thought I’d share it with you and Scripting News on this Sunday morning from the comfort of the free circuits of home.

    The Economist: “There were large demonstrations in Venezuela against a decision by President Hugo Chรกvez to shut down the main opposition television channel, due to take effect on May 27th. Its frequency is to be used by a government-funded channel. ”

    Even blogging can be stopped if the internet service providers censor it. I am still stunned when I read something like this. So, as they say, “…with freedom comes responsibility”. Thank goodness they populace in Venezuela were allowed to demonstrate!

    Lest we forget!

    Reply

  4. “small Web 2.0 dividend” ??!!!!

    BTW : the Venezuelan television channel was not exactly “shut down” in the sense that’s being spun here. Its broadcasting license had expired of natural causes and wasn’t being renewed. I’m not saying Chavez is a saint; there was definitely a political motive (this is the channel that supported the coup against him in 2002, after all); but the license would have been up for renewal anyway; and might easily have been awarded to a different company. The company itself still exists and is distributed over cable, what it lost is its national broadcast frequency.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

