When you hear journalists talk about use of ChatGPT in education they talk about ways students can use it to cheat. They never mention the support functions it can play, like a perfectly tireless and free-of-charge tutor. That’s how I often use it. If I’m not sure I’ve remembered something correctly, I just ask ChatGPT to remind me. It’s a kind of drill that was never available before unless you were a rich kid with parents who spoil them. #

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cletus on November 11, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    Praise Murphy! Dave, dude, I would love to hear you doing more shows. No surprise, but in this age of 10,000 podcasters, your style is still unique and your content of tremendous interest. My top 10 list of favorite podcasts to date includes two from you: the “breakfast” episode with your parents and the Florida beach storm or “godcast thunderstorm” I think it was called. Both are pure citizen media perfection.

    Reply

  2. There can’t be a web 3.0 until after the current crop of web 2.0 companies suffers enough of a downturn in the business cycle to throw people out of work. By the time the next cycle turns up we’ll probably call it something else.

    Reply

  3. Wait, if the president’s approval rating dropped 10 points in less than a week, doesn’t that mean that:

    a) 30 million people changed their mind in less than a week, or
    b) the system they use to calculate this is utterly inaccurate

    Reply

  4. Thanks, Dave. The tool I’ve just build is in deep version 0.1 territory. Once I’ve got a bit more time to work on this, I’ll be pulling together numerous ways to link in to OPML files. Created should work fine – I’m going to make a little tool next week to find the node you want and get an anchor link for it.

    Reply

  5. I’ve been working along the same lines recently with webOutliner. My first thought was to create a namespace specific ‘wo:anchor’ attribute for that purpose, which offers the possibility to use a simple, short, name for the anchor.

    Using the OPML ‘created’ attribute is simpler from the OPML generating perspective (and I do not think generating more that one anchor a second is a real life issue 🙂 but it makes for hard to type and remember urls when linking to the inside of an OPML outline manually…

    We also need a way of specifying what part of the target outline gets included: is it the anchor designated node only, that target node and its children if it has any, or that target node, its children if any, and its subsequent siblings if any ?

    I tend to favor the last option, but devising a standard way of choosing between these options from the originating link would be interesting. A bit too forward looking maybe ?

    Still thinking all this over. Any comment welcome.

    Marc

    Reply

  6. Marc – I’ve started using ‘created’. It’s a bit of an odd way of doing it, but it works. The good part about it is that it’s automatic. The vast majority of OPML producing tools add it automatically. And for everything else, you can use a path.

    Reply

Leave a comment