It worked. RSS 2.0 has stood the test of time. Lots of innovation has taken place in the namespaces, and the core has stayed intact. There were a lot of people who wanted to control and own RSS when I wrote that. If it hadn’t been frozen they’d still be fighting over the basics. We’ve made a lot with RSS and we’re going to make a lot more. It’ll be important in the evolution of social media, podcasting, blogging and more. This is what the roadmap says. It worked and continues to work. #

25 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeff Imig on December 3, 2006 at 8:07 am

    I’ve been using myway.com for a long time.

    My wife started commenting a couple (?) weeks ago that tv.yahoo.com listings were all screwed up.

    but my.myway.com was still working.

    Jeff

    Reply

  2. I just tried myway.com, but it’s not good enough.

    First, it was way too much work to just look at a listing, I had to create an account, even when I had no idea if I wanted to use the service. Yuck.

    And when I finally got through, I saw a grid and that’s good, and it loaded quickly — also good, but it only went up to channel 70. Huh? I have channels up to 900 and the channels I’m most interested in are above 500. That rules it out.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jeff Imig on December 3, 2006 at 8:24 am

    More re Yahoo vs myway.com

    several years ago (so it seems), I got tired of yahoo improving their my.yahoo.com service… I “discovered” myway.com, & created what I’d thought would be my “Yahoo Killer” my.mywyay page there.

    End result after quite some time: I still use yahoo as a sort of home page, but I never look at their tv listings… What’s really my startup page in firefox is a batch of tabs one of which is my my.myway tv listing page.

    Reply

  4. I agree the setup isn’t that great.

    [900 channels? Do you ever find a time when there’s nothing interesting on any channel?]

    I don’t know if myway.com is still being developed or if it’s just there; it was new at the time if found it.

    It gives me the basic channels, and that’s enough for me. Didn’t know about missing the extras, but I’m not surprised.

    I have decided that I should be creating rather than sitting on my butt watching tv. Not that much time in life.

    Reply

  5. >>Do you ever find a time when there’s nothing interesting on any channel?

    Oh yes indeed. A vast wasteland. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Not only does the administration want us to see our future as Iraq’s future (wtf), but the stance is as always, “We’ll get out of Iraq when the Iraqi’s tells us they want us to leave”.

    Never mind what the people of America say. Very strange leadership we seem to have.

    Reply

  7. We should tap him on the shoulder and say “Pssst, remember us.”

    I said years ago, he should go live in Iraq and be their President. We need our own President here to look out for our interests.

    Reply

  8. Last year when you were setting off from Florida on your way eventually to California, you stopped in Savannah for a day. (I was following your blog posts) I felt kind of badly in that I was only in the early design stages of our iTour Savannah website. I recall that you commented that there was really no podcast or significant blogging going on here. I wanted to go meet you and take you on a tour, but I was engaged in my day job.

    I want you to know you had a great influence on my decision to start a Savannah podcast and eventually that interest led to the audio tour business I now run.

    I hope when you return to Savannah someday, you’ll take an audio tour with us.

    Reply

  9. I never actually used Yahoo’s TV service (Their signup form asks for to much personal info, and it wasn’t worth remembering a lie) But I’ve been pretty happy with http://tvlistings2.zap2it.com for years.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Nick on December 3, 2006 at 10:29 am

    Dave,
    Why is it that bloggers have the power to be a new type of journalists yet none of them use that responsibility to its true potential? I thought that you ,the inventor of the blog, would be different enough to see how things could be done, but I am appalled to see that I am mistaken.
    For example, when the bloggers I have seen criticize a politician they basically mirror or agree with what a major news outlet said. If necessity is the mother of all invention, so should it be the mother of all posts. By that I mean blogs should be a voice not for those that agree with someone that has a voice, but a way to empower those who don’t.
    I feel like a blogger should have a conversation with me so that I may relate to his feelings or he can relate to mine. When a blogger has a problem with Bush I want to hear what Bush has done to them rather than an opinion on what he has done to someone else.
    In a nutshell, I want to hear what the blogger himself knows, not what he saw on the same channel I too can watch. Only that would give me something that I can not find in another outlet.
    Thanks for the ear,
    Nick

    Reply

  11. Nick, I have no idea what you’re asking me to do. Maybe if you skip the preamble and sermonizing and get to the point directly it’ll be a little clearer.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Nick on December 3, 2006 at 11:39 am

    Ok Dave,
    take a look at two posts from your own website that I labled 1 and 2.

    [1]Watching Meet the Press this morning interview a Bush advisor lie, lie and lie. This is the guy who wrote the memo that leaked, where he told his boss the truth about Iraq. I look forward to the day when I can run a mashup of Meet The Press, and provide a running commentary. The name of the site would be What They Really Mean, and below the speaker would be a translation, in English, of what the spinmeister is saying.

    The first one is a meet the press story. Its the same groupthink that all of the major news organizations have. Its not what I want from a blogger because I can get it from a traditional news agency. My ability to watch it on TV takes a portion of the value of you telling me about it away.

    [2]Listening to these guys I think the US has gone crazy. When did our future become the future of Iraq? It’s insanity. We had the leading economy, military, a great country. Iraq was one of a hundred despotic states, no tradition of freedom or intellect, a mediocre economy. What exactly was in it for us in merging with this third-rate country? We’ve lost our minds.

    Information is valuable when I can’t get it someplace else. Your opinions and insight which you gave me in the second post are something I can’t see on Meet the Press and therfore is a valuable addition.

    You seem to think that blogs are a competitor to conventional news. They could be a tool that can be used with the traditional news providers.

    I want some sort of search engine that gives me information that I want to see after I learn from another source. For example, if I saw Meet the Press on Dec. 3 I should be able to search for blogs that A. tell me more information or B. have a different view. Search engines and blogs today seem to be about starting to learn not continuing my education.

    Reply

  13. Your aspiration to mashup the talk shows with your own commentary is called The Daily Show where they do it with great humor.

    Reply

  14. Nick, if you don’t like the news go out and make some of your own.

    In other words, lead by doing, not by telling other people what to do.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Nick on December 3, 2006 at 12:43 pm

    Those are good words to live by Dave. My partner and I are working on a site that does what I described to you, but we know you have alot more blogging expierence than we do. It would really help us if you could take a look at the site before we release it to the public to tell us what needs to be added or approved. So give me a call if you have some free time to look at the site.
    Thanks,
    Nick
    (812) 639-0834

    Reply

  16. I just wanted to comment on your good health report from yesterday. That is wonderful news, Dave.
    Jeanne

    Reply

  17. Posted by Ezra on December 3, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    You know, it’s probably unfair to say that Iraq has no tradition of intellect. They did sort of invent writing. They also had a pretty advanced civilization when Europeans were just puttering around in the woods.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Ezra on December 3, 2006 at 3:44 pm

    If you can get a video file of Meet the Press, I think you can do what you want to do with iMovie on the Mac, using the “subtitle” title style, which overlays text onto the bottom of the movie as its running.

    Reply

  19. “You know, it’s probably unfair to say that Iraq has no tradition of intellect. They did sort of invent writing. They also had a pretty advanced civilization when Europeans were just puttering around in the woods.”

    This is true in a comparative sense, Iraq is does make up some of the land that was at one point, Mesopotamia and Sumer. Those civilisations did achieve vast leaps of knowledge including writing and math BUT- (and a notable one) that doesn’t let one fairly conclude that Iraq “ivented writing”. We are talking about 4th and 3rd millennium BC. A long time before Babylon and the countless societies that would come and go on the land that we know recognize as Iraq, not that we recognize their sovereignty or anything but you get the idea. I think when Dave wrote, he was careful in his words to say “tradition of intellect”. As in, in recent/modern history, there really is no tradition or heritage of educational progress or higher learning for societal advancement. They’ve pretty much defined their groups by religion and race and been run by an extremist dictator without any successful coup despite wide support for a popular majority from neighboring nations. In other words, Baghdad is no Paris or Beirut.

    FWIW- I totally agree that it is insane this entire country has lost it’s damned mind- on the other hand- we did recently vote for change and thus, we can hope things are (slowly) starting to swing in a positive direction.

    big fan of Scripting.com- keep it up! One piece of feedback- as a mobile user, any chance we could get a link to a mobile version of scripting.com. Am loving the newsrivers on my nokia6133 but can’t seem to get a super easy version of SN, I probably overlooked the link- any help would rock.

    Thanks again-
    Jack

    “Once in a while
    you get shown the light
    in the strangest of places
    if you look at it right”

    😉

    Reply

  20. Our current President (and his father) and our Vice President and, well, most of the administration have a vested interest in oil reserves. OIL. They do not care about the people of our own country or the problems that we possibly face because we do not add money to their coffers. Securing the oil rights in Iraq will do that. It has been their focus since taking office.

    I believe we have an insane President and Administration. I also believe that the citizens of the United States are finally coming out of their flag-waving, patriotic coma and are realizing that Iraq is/was/will be a huge mistake and waste of human lives and American tax dollars.

    Our recent election was a hopeful sign that the insanity may be starting to wane.

    Reply

  21. Posted by Ezra on December 3, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    “there really is no tradition or heritage of educational progress or higher learning for societal advancement.”

    Actually, the Iraqi education system and overall level of education was not bad until sanctions in the 1990’s. Iraq is not third-world like Afghanistan is. (Think about how many Iraqis make it on the news speaking English, just for starters; that’s not exactly the hallmark of an extremely backward country).

    And as for being defined by race and religion and being run by an extremist, well, let’s not cast the first stone on that one…

    Reply

  22. I was going to recommend TitanTV. Its nice because it knows where you are and what service you use and only displays those channels you receive.

    Reply

  23. Hi Dave,
    This comment is blatant self-promotion, but you might find this useful. A project of mine, runstoppable.com, lets you map out where you go on walks (runs, etc) and gives you a nice elevation graph showing where you went (the graph is interactive, too). I have an example here http://www.runstoppable.com/routeoverview.php5?route_id=950991470.

    Anyway.. I saw your note about Spruce Street, and thought it would be cool if you could share the magnitude of the hill.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Mike C. on December 4, 2006 at 4:45 am

    If you’re interested in tv listing info, it might make sense to contact this guy: http://evoketv.blogspot.com/.

    I used titantv for a few years, but left it in a flash for EvokeTV. For me, presenting episode details in a new window is a killer. It really disrupts the flow. EvokeTV didn’t do that.

    Alas, they recently suspended service, but could come back. It was a truly great service. No gratuitous flashiness; all necessary info.

    Reply

  25. Posted by Will Cate on December 4, 2006 at 8:34 am

    WOW – thanks for the tip on TitanTV. It’s great.

    I don’t mind the program details appearing in a separate window, in fact I prefer it. But each to his/her own, I suppose…

    Reply

Leave a comment