A bug report was filed by AJ-Ianozi re the W3C hosting of my RSS 2.0 spec, with my name, copyright and CC-BY license removed. I posted a comment in that thread, and I really hope that’s all that’s needed to put this behind us. #

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michael Jamison on December 4, 2006 at 10:29 am

    Dave:

    When you get up Spruce to Marin, take a right..

    Now, THAT’s a hill!

    Reply

  2. Michael, no that’s a cliff! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Dave,

    I would agree with your statement about ads. However, how will we trust the “search results” if all the ads are gone on Google?

    To provide a useful service Google needs to charge for it. And if they can’t sell ads then they’re going to charge for position. That’s when things are going to get ugly.

    – Colin

    Reply

  4. Dave,

    I read the article.

    You left out a bunch of stuff that doesn’t support your thesis. This isn’t a “build it and they will come” model. People don’t just “find their way” to P&G and Unilever. “Much of the traffic to the big package-goods marketers’ sites appears to be coming the way originally envisioned in the online advertising model: as a response to online display advertising.” It’s not a search-generated ad, but it is ad-driven. They’re also using “online promotions through such programs as ePrize.net.” and everyone’s favorite form of advertising: e-mail. (There’s a spike in Web traffic after they mail… which suggests that people forget to find their way without constant prodding.)

    Reply

  5. Dave, you sound like one of those guys swaddled enough to be dazzled by the 1939 World’s Fair. Before that “we” had “the white city” of the World’s Columbian Exposition of 1893. Both of these optimistic views were destroyed by World War II and World War I respectively. I’m not making this up. This is the easy lesson of history. I’m not going to “bore” you with the advanced stuff, dude.

    So “my point” is that your dreams of customer-corporation relations ignores the possibility that disinformation gangsters don’t make money by reigning over ignorance. It is hard to sell crap to an informed public. And now I suppose you are going to tell me that a computer the reaches temperatures above the boiling point is not crap.

    Save this note in your database for future African generations.

    Reply

  6. Posted by elle on December 4, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    Dave

    Your AdAge comment was confusing.

    The article notes that P&G leads the industry, buying 1.3% of the Internet advertising in the US. That’s a lot of banner ads.

    As much as we might like ads to go away, companies use them because they work.

    Reply

  7. The problem with your amazon example is that you have not established a norm. Plus you are not mentioning the mystery product! Perhaps for this mystery product the next day delivery is not a realistic expectation, and therefore the amazon promising next day is the equivalent of the ‘misprint’.

    The only way to resolve this question is to conduct a controlled scientific study, with an adequate sample size. Not surprisingly, and to amazon.com’s benefit, you need to buy more stuff from amazon. I would suggest starting out with a more-modest 2-day delivery plan, and then from there work your way gradually up to overnight. Be kind to your UPS deliveryperson, too. You know, they report back on how graciously you receive the package, and whether _you_ are on time when it arrives as well.

    Finally, with respect to the question of banner ads, I think your article would be more complete if you could sell some banner ads to large companies on your website, then you would have more direct experience and your voice would be more authoritative on the topic. Since you mention amazon.com and their delivery capabilities frequently, perhaps they would enjoy mentioning their ‘Amazon Prime’ 2-day flat fee delivery in a banner ad which they place on one of your websites.

    Everyone talks about the synergy of elements business, yet no one mentions its converse: the synergy of elements in the ratiocination of a syllogism.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Kevin Newman on December 4, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    Those headphones don’t sound good at all unless you get them firmly seated in your ears. If there isn’t much bass, they aren’t in right. They go way down in, like earplugs. If you make a noise like “Psssssssst” while trying them not plugged in to anything, you shouldn’t hear yourself, if they are in your ear canal snugly.

    Reply

  9. I have the same headphones and Kevin is right. Once you figure out how to set them right it’s an amazing difference. I wore them about 6 hours today on a plane and didn’t miss the engine noise or crying babies. Even without music they make a huge difference, but I was listening to my nano the whole time.

    There is a graphic included that shows a recommended way to insert them, I usually wet them a bit and then put them in at a pretty steep downward angle. It takes a bit of practice to be able to get a great seal easily, but once you do they *really* block out external noise and sound fantastic.

    Good luck.

    Reply

  10. My dog chewed my Etymotics up. They def sounded good. I’m using some Sennheiser HD280 pros right now, that I got from work, and I like these better actually, but they’re big headphones.

    Reply

  11. Dave I would like to talk to you via email about this proposed mp3 player you spoke about in a podcast a day or two ago. If you could contact me I would appreciate it.

    I have some ideas I would like to run by you, and to point you in a new direction with the product.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Eric S. on December 5, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    Re: the mp3 of the interview with Jason Calacanis.
    I’m deaf in my right ear, thus can’t listen with headphones unless I want to hear one side of the convo. I genuinely look forward to every netcast you post and cannot ask you to change what you do to post them. That said, please at least consider the balance of your mix Converting to mono would make the file that much more accessible.

    Thanks again.
    E

    Reply

Leave a comment