One of the things I did this morning was carefully read the Metaweblog API docs I wrote in 2002. This became a widely supported standard almost instantly on publication. There was a demand for it. At that time, being compatible at an API level was a competitive issue for blogging software. A must-have feature.#

18 responses to this post.

  1. When I was at the Daily Cal, we got a loaner Qube (which ended up being a gift) and it was indeed very cool. Then Sun bought the company and ended up killing off the whole product line. Basically, the Qube is the kind of server Apple would make if they ever got aggressive about the server market. Why doesn’t someone become the Apple of servers? Not a lot of consulting revenue there, I guess.

    Reply

  2. Actually the Mac Mini is pretty close. 🙂

    Reply

  3. True in form factor! Not sure if the software is quite so easy!

    I just saw your This I Believe item. I agree this is an ethically slimy practice, it does not pass the smell test. It also, by the way, in very poor taste. Of all the people they could hit up for money, why hit up the people who make the show possible, who provide the actual material? If anything they should give YOU money.

    Of all the shows on NPR, one would think this one would need the least financial support.

    On the show website it quotes Edward R Murrow: “In this brief space, a banker or a butcher, a painter or a social worker, people of all kinds who need have nothing more in common than integrity, a real honesty, will write about the rules they live by, the things they have found to be the basic values in their lives.”

    How do they reconcile this with hitting up contributors for money and implying money is needed to win acceptance of your essay?

    Reply

  4. You know, I’m not seeing the quid pro quo element in their email or the prima facie evidence that this is sleaze. To be clear: It IS unfortunate and probably incompetent. My guess is that the fund-raising letter is the product of some ham-handed development types who are operating independently of the editorial side. Of course, I’m suggesting that your essay’s acceptance doesn’t matter one way or the other on your giving them money (and I can’t feel too upset that they’re out raising funds; I think if you check you’ll find out Murrow’s originals were sponsored, too; maybe by a cigarette company ;->).

    Reply

  5. My first web server ‘proper’ was a Cobalt Raq3. (Then Raq4) Which had a very similiar interface.

    Very handy it was too. Especially for a first timer!

    But pretty soon, I wanted to roll up my sleeves and break out the Putty (ssh/telnet client). I learned alot doing that and still do.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Klark on December 12, 2006 at 5:03 pm

    “It’ll be the first blog to make it to 10”

    Macintouch has been around since 1994.

    Reply

  7. At a mainstream newspaper, providing the advertising department with information about who the reporters and editors are talking to for the next issue would be considred unethical. And for the advertising department to use that information to try and sell them ads, with the clear implication it might determine whether their quotes or op-ed pieces are used, would be even worse.

    The fact they are asking for a “donation” instead of an ad does not make this any better.

    And it doesn’t look like a nut in the development office — the letter was signed by Bob Edwards, a longtime NPR on-air anchor. And it was clearly written specifically to solicit from people who have submitted pieces to This I Believe, so Bob knew what he was doing.

    Stranger still, Bob Edwards left NPR two years ago. So I guess they’ve been doing this for a while?

    Reply

  8. Yay. I’m glad you are continuing to blog. I couldn’t see ever stopping.

    Reply

  9. Glad for the reprieve. I hope you’ll keep blogging after April, but if not… That’s four more months. 🙂

    Reply

  10. The this-I-believe thing is unfortunate, and I can certainly see why it would leave a bad taste in your mouth, but I think it’s more inept than sinister.

    The fact that the letter was signed by Bob Edwards doesn’t mean that ham-handed development types weren’t involved. But even then, lets cut these people some slack. I don’t know how big the “This I believe” operation is, but chances are, they aren’t flush. Whoever is doing development, they are probably trying to keep a bunch of balls in the air.

    I’m sure the same goes for the people responsible for reviewing submissions. Yes, they should have acknowledged your contribution in a prompt and personal manner.

    The text of the letter suggests no quid pro quo. That they think you might want to support the show seems reasonable. The main issue seems to be be the timing, which could simply be a matter of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Diego on December 12, 2006 at 7:20 pm

    Don’t give up blogging Dave. All the blogosphere heat and trolling is being directed towards Mike Arrington these days. So just keep going. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Dave: Good call on the blog. “Keep it continue,” as Sammy Sosa once said. Long past April!

    Reply

  13. I dunno, I’m not sure you guys get it. Edward R Murrow, to a journalist, is an icon and a hero. To have his show resurrected and then handled in this way is truly disappointing.

    “Not everything is about money.”–Michael Keaton, The Paper

    Reply

  14. Thanks Uncle Dave for the reprieve.

    The planet needs ya bloggin’.

    — stan

    Reply

  15. Posted by john on December 13, 2006 at 1:48 am

    Two things about a noisy Qube.

    1) the tiny fan can be removed. don’t worry about it over heating.
    2) hard drives as they get older make a lot of noise. replacing the drive with a newer modern up to 120 gig drive will make it a lot quiter.

    The software for it is wildly out of date and getting it to now takes a lot of work. Better to get a new (or last year) Mac mini and install Fink on it. You’ll get modern everything without hassle. Plus you can easily add hard drives and RAM to the mini. The Qube is kind of a hassle to upgrade. Running the Mac Mini headless is possible because you can turn on Desktop Remote and use VNC to screen share it. But the best part is that file sharing is super simple.

    Reply

  16. I’d like to echo the comments above welcoming the reprieve. Why were you thinking of giving up blogging anyway?

    Reply

  17. Posted by Jeff Imig on December 13, 2006 at 7:06 am

    That kind of email would p me off too.

    I was going to say maybe they didn’t get your submission, but the email implies they did.

    As for slack, there are a zillion dollar making scams going on the internet; I think if they are trying to be ethical seriousness for the new media, it behooves (what a word) them to have not a taint of money grubbing.

    AND… boy if scripting.com disappears I will be lost… BUT life moves on & I bet there’ll be a way to find out what D.W. is up to.

    I will say thanks for a great 10 years (I saw them all from day one)!

    Jeff

    Reply

  18. The first blog to make it to ten years by your unneccessarily restrictive definition of “blog”. My blog passed the ten year mark four months ago, and it wasn’t the first.

    Reply

Leave a comment