Berkeley Bloggers Dinner, Jan 26

Let’s have a blogger’s dinner in Berkeley on Thursday, January 26, 7PM.

We got the place, Taste of the Himalayas, 1700 Shattuck Ave.

It’s a big restaurant and probably can accomodate up to 20 to 25 people, we can have a loud conversation or two. I’ve eaten there many times, the food is good and not too expensive. Nepalese food is a lot like Indian. Lots of curries, sauces, some spicy stuff, rice.

Anyone can come, no RSVP required although it would be appreciated. Include a bit about yourself in a comment here.

Maybe we’ll make this a semi-regular thing?

Let’s have fun!

PS: It’s five easy blocks from the Downtown Berkeley BART station.

PPS: When you arrive say you’re with the “Blogger” party. 🙂

48 responses to this post.

  1. How Nepal-Berkeley can you be? It’s about time we had a regular high tech dinner in the East Bay for all those budding entrepreneurs hiding in the hills and the uncovered creeks.

    Reply

  2. I’m starting a new job, so with that caveat, count me in.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kathy on January 18, 2006 at 8:36 am

    Greetings,
    I registered with WordPress yesterday (Jan. 17) and was issued a numeric password to use in order to login. When I used the password to login I got a message telling me that the password was incorrect. And that was the password that was issued to me by WordPress, so naturally I assumed it would work.
    This happened to me when I registered with IBlogs, and nobody from IBlogs has contacted me on how to fix this problem. Can you tell me what I need to do in order to be able to login to WordPress? Thanks for taking time to read this.

    Reply

  4. I plan to be there.

    Reply

  5. I will try to re-arrange my schedule to make the dinner.

    Reply

  6. Now that I have a nice photo of the Berkeley hills on my blog, and it seems I’m writing about Berkeley more and more often, I definitely have to be thinking about joining you all for dinner even though I’d have to fly up from Los Angeles to do so. If it were a Saturday I’d be there.

    Reply

  7. Count me in. I can be the rare .NET voice at these events.

    Reply

  8. See you there…

    Reply

  9. I intend and expect to be there!

    Reply

  10. 2nd the .NET voice comment. I’ll be there.

    Reply

  11. I love things in my neighborhood, especially at a place I haven’t been to in a while. See you there!

    Raines

    Reply

  12. Sounds great. I’ll be there.

    Reply

  13. Sounds great. I’ll be there. (sorry about the double comment, WP had me logged in on the wrong blog).

    Reply

  14. Yes! It’s now on my calendar, naturally.

    Reply

  15. Posted by lchiles on January 18, 2006 at 3:06 pm

    Dave, i was trying to add some Feedburner info to my html but can’t figure out how to edit to while i’m on wordpress.com blog. Please, any ideas?

    I pasted some htm in the notes section of some of the links but no dice it doesn’t show up.

    Thanks

    Lawton

    Reply

  16. Sounds fun. I’ll be there.

    Reply

  17. I think I ought to be able to make it. We are working on a new system for blog advertising and the feedback is always useful.

    Reply

  18. I’d love to crash since it is only 5 minutes away from my house.

    Reply

  19. I’m not too far and it sounds like fun. Count me in.

    Reply

  20. Look forward to it. Great idea.

    Reply

  21. I would love to come. Thanks.

    Reply

  22. Darn, I’ll miss it by one day. I’m heading to SF Jan 27 – Feb 1. Have fun! (It’s Chinese New Years on Jan 29).

    Reply

  23. Posted by Robyn Levin on January 20, 2006 at 10:22 am

    Great idea.
    I look forward to seeing you and meeting other bloggers.

    Reply

  24. Great idea — that’s a wonderful restraunt. I’m working half a block up the street, and I’ll be starving by 7, so count me in!

    Reply

  25. I’m in Palo Alto (visiting from Canada) … I’ll be there assuming I can find an easy way to get there. Hint appreciated.

    Reply

  26. I will be there. Looking forward to it.

    Reply

  27. I’ll be present — looking forward to it.

    Reply

  28. I’ll try to be there but I might have a conflict… Om already invited me to another dinner this night… ug

    Kevin

    Reply

  29. I’ll be out of town (in Phoenix) but hope to make the next one!

    Gil

    Reply

  30. Though I am a mere policy blogger, I’d like to come to learn from the experts and hear about what is coming next in this marvelous new world …

    Owen

    Reply

  31. I will be there. Is Berkeley destined to become the epicenter of the Blogosphere?

    Reply

  32. It’s about a 1.5 mile bike ride to the restaurant so I can’t pass it up.

    Steve Hill

    Reply

  33. Jay, it already is. Hadn’t you noticed?

    Reply

  34. Now that I know you can just show up anyway, I’m in.

    Reply

  35. What – where are the kids?

    This soireee needs two bubbling little girls – like Mimi and Lucy.

    But they’ll want edamamee and Udon noodles.

    Dave Winer snaps his fingers and the entire blogoshere adheres. Me – I’m just back from the road and have plenty of AOL and London stories ot share.

    BTW Dave – Ted Leonsis wanted me to give you a big fat kiss.

    Reply

  36. Well since I just yesterday officially moved to Berkeley I’ll definitely be there this evening as well.

    Reply

  37. Count me in as a .NET/Rails voice!

    I’m from Canada, visiting the Valley for a month. I am looking for partners for a startup, or for an opportunity in a great startup.

    I have great skills both on the business and technical side. I have been running a software dev shop since 1998.

    I’ll see you all tonight!

    Reply

  38. Never been to a bloggers’ dinner, sounds like it’s time to start…

    Reply

  39. Apologies, but I can’t make it after all. I’m just back from a trip and trying to finish something on a deadline before tomorrow morning.

    Reply

  40. […] So I say “good luck” to Dan.  Hopeflly I’ll see him at the dinner tonight. […]

    Reply

  41. […] So I say “good luck” to Dan.  Hopeflly I’ll see him at the dinner tonight. […]

    Reply

  42. I’m assuming the dinner is around 7 pm, right?

    Reply

  43. Nik and Geoff from Omnidrive and Gabe will be there.

    Reply

  44. Coming

    Reply

  45. Thanks Dave for a fun event!

    I posted links to those in attendance.

    http://web2.0central.com/archives/163

    Reg
    http://www.zigtag.com/

    Reply

  46. […] Dave Winer organized one of his infamous Blogger Dinners last night in Berkeley. Here are a few photos that I shot. I agree with Dave that it’s better to have these dinners be less formal and structured, in order to enable better “circulation”. Often at the sit-down type dinners, you are only able to talk to the people who are sitting near you. Photos from the Berkeley Bloggers Dinner […]

    Reply

  47. […] The first dinner was great, but we can do even better. We’re shopping for a new venue, and may have it, the Afghan Oasis restaurant, in the Shattuck Hotel, 2086 Allston Way. The SF Chronicle describes it as “the cavernous dining room where diners can sample chef Naim Amir’s Afghan dishes.” The food is excellent, and the room is huge and was virtually empty when I last visited. Sylvia Paull, Marc Canter and myself are meeting there for lunch on Wednesday at noon to have a look and see if we can arrange a fixed-price buffet and a space for mingling, eating and schmoozing. […]

    Reply

  48. Crap. I missed it. And I live only ten minutes away from the place. I’ll try to make the #2 dinner.

    Reply

Leave a comment