Scripting News for 4/25/2006

Much love and support to Terry Heaton, whose wife Allie died suddenly last night. 

This evening I’m going to a talk at UC-Berkeley by former CBS news anchor Dan Rather. They also invited me to a party honoring him. So what do you say when you’re shaking the hand of a historic figure? I guess we’ll find out. ๐Ÿ™‚ 

Irreverent snark-filled comments today, esp re Rather.  

Kosso implements Hugh MacLeod’s widget, in Javascript

Last year on this day I wondered why Kill Bill I & II aren’t the ultimate chick revenge movies, like Thelma and Louise. A year later, I still don’t get it.  

Scott Rosenberg: “Congress is considering allowing the big phone and cable companies that now control most of the broadband access in the US to do something they want to do, but that has never been done before: turn the level playing field of today’s Internet into a sort of class-system environment, in which packets sent by companies that pay more get preferential treatment.” 

I listened to my first Gillmor Gang in many months, last week’s show with Hugh MacLeod. More and more I realize that it’s Mike Arrington’s world, we just live in it.  

New header graphic, veggies at Seattle’s Pike Place Market

According to SiliconBeat, the Sphere weblog search engine is about to open to the public.  

Integrity in 2006 

Amy Gahran asks what integrity is. Try this. “A human being has integrity if he or she is what he or she appears to be. That’s why integrity commands us to disclose conflicts, so that what we say, and who we appear to be, are in synch. Change the appearance if necessary.”

PS: A simple search reveals 521 instances of “integrity” on this site. No need to guess, or look in the dictionary to find out how I use the term.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Yep, the same material from the outside layer all threough the middle. Who are you when no one is paying attention.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tim King on April 25, 2006 at 10:58 am

    When you meet Dan Rather, ask him “What’s the frequency, Kenneth?”.

    Reply

  3. I don’t think you should worry about it. Dan Rather has met lots of historic figures. He’ll know what to say to you.

    Reply

  4. Robert, you’re too kind! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jake on April 25, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    Who’s Mike Arrington?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Jay Robertson on April 25, 2006 at 1:21 pm

    Some lawyer/VC who runs a blog that profiles new tech bubble (i.e. Web 2.0) companies. He and Winer seem to have a reciprocal promotional relationship, in which Winer gushes about Arrington in exchange for invites to his Silicon Valley startup-geek barbeques.

    Reply

  7. Regarding Rather: “Pleased to meet you” (shrug)

    Reply

  8. As a follow-up…. I’m curious (honestly — no snarkiness): What does makes an impression when someone shakes hands with you? Do you want a simple “hey,” a witty remark, a comment about RSS and/or OPML, or something else?

    Reply

  9. Joanie, off the top of my head, if somehow what you do relates to what I do in some interesting way. If you have some knowledge that I’ve been looking for.

    Big turnoff: Product pitches.

    Which is why I found the TentCrunch party such a bore. Everyone was pitching something, it seemed.

    Another big turnoff: You flamed me a long time ago and I haven’t forgotten and never will. (Don’t assume that I actually did flame the person, and if you were so insulted, why are your introducing yourself at a social event?)

    Even bigger turnoff: I flame you every chance I get, and here I am to make you miserable, in person!

    Reply

  10. What I wouldn’t do is introduce myself as one of the inventors of Blogging. I rather doubt Dan would have warm feelings if he knew.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Jay Robertson on April 25, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    I might be snarky, but I appreciate a good play on words:

    “. . . the TentCrunch party . . . Everyone was pitching something . . .”

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a comment