Scripting News for 8/7/07

Random notes from the road 

The Photos-to-Twitter experiment worked.

Of course the first stop, Crater Lake, had very limited cell coverage, but I learned something about the iPhone as I drove out of the national park, when it finally found a good cell connect, it sent the mail waiting in my outbox on its own. The Blackberry does that, but somehow I didn’t expect the iPhone, a very young product, to do it too. Good move.

About 60 people of the 1700 or so who are subscribed to my Twitter feed looked at each photo. So I guess that answers the question a few people asked, why am I doing this? I’m doing it because I’m a nerd and a reporter, and about 60 people are interested. If I hear a beautiful song, or see a beautiful picture, my first impulse is to share it. It’s just the way I’m built. And like everything else we do, it’s a proof of concept and a road test before a moon mission. Someday we may depend on having this kind of immediacy in communication. Oddly enough that’s what I was thinking when pushing RSS forward. I’ll be cool to have this when there’s an emergency. Even though it’s mission critical for no one, Crater Lake is gorgeous and impressive, hope the pics captured that, and the desert in central Oregon may be surprising to people, and the beauty of the Columbia Gorge, in the middle of all that desert.

Isn’t this technology great! I’m looking at the Columbia River flowing past my hotel room, but electronically, I never left home.

Today’s travels will take me to Mount St. Helens and Mount Rainier, before checking into my hotel in Issaquah, where I’m staying two nights before checking into Gnomedex on the waterfront in downtown Seattle.

PS: Can’t wait to hear what Apple’s announcing today. 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Dave, read the tweet reply I sent re this post.

    BTW if you are going to be in Issaquah, Sushiman is a great sushi place if you are into that kind of stuff.

    Reply

  2. Dave, the experiment definitely didn’t work for me, so much so that I had to stop following you on Twitter. 😦

    I mostly read Twitter via Google Reader (not recommended) and I already follow your Flickr feed, so the tweets were just spam. At least with Twittergrams, I can’t follow them any other way.

    I think you’d be better off encouraging Twitter to support images. They could show thumbnails in the web UI and RSS feed and send MMS messages to cell phones.

    Reply

  3. Posted by James Robertson on August 7, 2007 at 10:07 am

    I enjoy reading what you are doing with this twitter technology, flickr looks good, but I like the idea of twitterpictogram.

    Reply

  4. Dave, just curious what are the costs in the US for sending data over the phone? Can you get some sort of flat fee subscription?

    Reply

  5. Posted by William Arnold on August 7, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    http://www.kyte.tv/channels/view.html?uri=channels/6118#uri,channels/6118/40983

    is it my connection? i load and play and all i get is jibberish that cuts off after 15 seconds

    Reply

Leave a comment